The Porch at Schenley

The Porch at Schenley

I finally had a chance to eat at The Porch at Schenley this past weekend!  It’s been on my “to do” list for a while, since it’s super close to campus and I often eat at other restaurants nearby.  But, I find it awkward to eat a sit-down meal by myself, and so I’ve passed over eating at The Porch for other restaurants that I can more easily get take out from.

Well, on Sunday, one other student and I took one of the recruits for the grad program out to dinner, and because the weather was pretty awful, we decided that it would be smart to eat somewhere near campus.  The Porch is pretty much the only “nice” restaurant in Oakland, so that’s where we decided to go.

To put it simply:  it was delicious!

We first shared an appetizer of the Farm Bread, which came with three slices of lightly toasted sourdough bread and a side of butter, berry and mint jam, and apple butter.  By far my favorite part was the apple butter!  It was just perfectly spiced and had a really wonderful flavor.  I’ve had apple butter before, but nothing with this depth of flavor.  I don’t really have a better way to describe it- you just have to go try it yourself!

For our main entrees, we all ended up ordering the same thing- “The Porch” Prime Rib Sandwich.  It has prime rib topped with balsamic onion jam, gorgonzola cheese, and arugula on toasted sourdough bread.  It’s a hearty and filling sandwich which was perfect for the snowy winter afternoon.  All of the flavors melded so well together and I couldn’t get enough of this perfect sandwich.  It came with a side of Crispy Taters, which were deep fried whole potatoes seasoned with some rosemary and served with curried ketchup.  The rosemary flavor initially caught me off guard because it’s not a flavor I’m used to eating, but I quickly decided that I loved it on these potatoes.  They were crispy on the outside and perfectly soft on the inside and the ketchup added a little bit of acid, which really made each bite.

The menu is moderately priced, and it really depends on what you order.  There are entrees priced as low as $9 or as expensive as $24 during dinnertime, which is when I ate there.  The lunch entrees are all closer to the $10 mark.  The Porch also serves breakfast and late night menus.  I’m looking forward to trying their breakfast soon, because they serve (among many choices) fruit-filled hand pies and homemade donuts.  If it tastes even half as good as my diner did, I’ll be happy!

Leave a Reply

