Most Creative Quesadilla {20SB Contest}

Most Creative Quesadilla {20SB Contest}

When I started this blog, I started looking for blogging communities to join so that I could connect with other bloggers.  I found a great community called 20 Something Bloggers which is a site for bloggers in their 20s to connect with each other.

One blogger suggested a cooking competition between blogs, which sounded like a ton of fun!  Baking is my favorite thing to do in the kitchen but pretty much any form of cooking is fine by me so I immediately knew that I wanted to participate.

The theme for this round of the cooking contest was Most Creative Quesadilla.  How fun!  Aside from the (very limited) rules for this contest (must include cheese), my other, personal restriction was to only use ingredients I already have in my kitchen, as I’m trying to cut back on how much money I spend on groceries per month.  It can be too easy sometimes to just buy food out when I don’t feel like thinking about how to combine the ingredients I already have.  From my perspective as a grad student, this contest was a great way to force myself to be creative with the ingredients I have on hand, and save some money in the process!

I came up with a Blueberry Banana Breakfast Quesadilla!

Ingredients:

  • 1 flour tortilla
  • Cream cheese
  • Drunken Monkey Jam from The Jam Stand
  • Fresh blueberries
  • Cinnamon

image

Assembly was simple:  I spread a thin layer of cream cheese over half of the tortilla; then spread jam on the other half and topped it with blueberries and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  I folded the tortilla in half and heated it up slightly in a pan lightly coated with melted butter, just until the cream cheese began to melt.  Then, I enjoyed my breakfast! 😉

image

I actually prepared the quesadilla the night before, kept it in the fridge overnight, and just heated it up in the morning. It took less than 5 minutes– so easy!

One thought on “Most Creative Quesadilla {20SB Contest}

Leave a Reply

