Science Sunday #17

Science Sunday #17

This week’s Science Sunday is finally up- apologies for the delay due to it being a holiday weekend! I had no idea what article I was going to choose for Science Sunday this week, as over the past few months I’ve been using up articles faster than I’ve been finding new ones (my fault; not that there is a lack of science news out there).  Then last night, this article from the New York Times caught my eye: My No-Soap, No-Shampoo, Bacteria-Rich Hygiene Experiment

Putting bacteria on your skin when everything around us is designed to scrub it away?  It sure goes against conventional ideas, but with current scientific research delving more into understanding the microbiome, this article didn’t catch me too much by surprise.  Probiotics and prebiotics are buzzwords that appear all the time in food and nutritional supplements.  In fact, one of my fellow NJCE Boston competition winners wrote his artcle about introducing more bacteria into our bodies.  I imagine that within the next decade, this new avenue of research will spawn massive changes in how we think about what we put on and in our bodies. For now, I admit that the technology seems bizarre. But centuries from now, who knows what “conventional wisdom” will tell us!

Leave a Reply

