10 Extra Hours

10 Extra Hours

What would you do with 10 extra hours?

Or, first:  How can you possibly find 10 extra hours?

This month, I am participating in a challenge from one of my new favorite websites, The Everygirl, called 30 Days of Motivated Mornings.  The challenge is to wake up 30 minutes earlier every day and spend that time doing an activity that you otherwise haven’t been able to find time for.  I’m modifying the challenge a little bit and only participating on weekdays, since I already have a set wakeup time on those days.  Weekends I am going to continue to wake up when I very well please 😉

I started the challenge on Monday morning.  I used my extra time to read a chapter of the Game of Thrones book I’ve been trying to get through since- can you believe it?- last August, and ate a leisurely breakfast curled up in my comfy chair instead of scarfing it down in class. Yesterday, I read two chapters, and froze some meat I prepped over the weekend. Whatever I’ve been doing, it’s more than I would if I slept later, and certainly more than I can ever get done in half an hour after a full day of classes and lab.

My mornings in generally tend to start off with me procrastinating, either with getting out of bed or on the Internet once I get up, followed by a mad rush in the last 10 minutes before I need to get out the door trying to pack lunch, fill my water bottle, figure out where I put my bus pass… you get the picture.  I think starting a new routine in the morning will help me to be better in the mornings, and I will be able to get out of the house on time more often as well as get more things done that I otherwise wouldn’t in my day.

I’m looking forward to a productive June!

Leave a Reply

