Happy 4th of July!

Happy 4th of July!

This week has flown by!  It’s certainly nice that tomorrow is a university holiday, so I’ll get a break, but this week felt so rushed knowing that I only had four days to get things done instead of 5.  Plus, I’m busy all weekend (more on that in a bit) so I don’t have Saturday or Sunday to get anything done in the lab, either.  Because of that, as soon as I leave lab this evening I am going to try to clear my mind of science for a couple of days!  I have a lot of questions and experiments that I want to work on next week, but it’s going to do me no good to stress about them all weekend.  I’m beginning to realize how much science is a “lifestyle” more than just a job.  My mind runs through experiments at all hours.  Hopefully I can turn that off for a few days while…

my family visits!  They haven’t all been out to Pittsburgh since moving me in last August (and I can’t believe it’s nearly been a year!).  My mom came back out in early September, but since then I’ve actually had no visitors.  I am quite glad that they will be the ones traveling this time, instead of me.  I’ve actually been back to NJ five times since moving out here.  That’s a lot of miles that I am happy someone else will have to cover for once, while I sit in my apartment and wait.  And it will be nice to be able to show them some of my favorite places in Pittsburgh now that I’ve been out here long enough to identify them.  I hope the weather stays nice because the plan right now includes fireworks, farmers’ markets, and the Strip District!

I hope everyone else enjoys their festivities this weekend, too.  Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

