IGSIC 2014

IGSIC 2014

image

This week I had the opportunity to present my research at the International Graduate Student Immunology Conference! It was my first time ever presenting the research I’ve been doing at Pitt, but ultimately even more exciting than that was the opportunity I had to meet otner immunology students from all over the world, make some new friends, and build a network of fellow immunologists who are at a similar point in their career as I am.

The conference (which is only in its 3rd year) was held this year in Dallas, TX at the UT Southwestern Medical Center. Most of the attendees were from the school, but there was still a good variety of other universities in the mix – and everyone there was new to me! We had 2 and a half days of talks (by students and by UTSW faculty), poster sessions, and time to socialize and meet each other and explore Dallas.

image

For my first conference, this was a perfect choice. It was a low pressure environment and yet everyone was engaged in asking questions. I’ll go back to Pittsburgh with ideas of how to improve both my project and my presentation of it. It was a really great, constructive 3 days.

One thought on “IGSIC 2014

Leave a Reply

