24 Things I Know at 24

24 Things I Know at 24

One of my inspirations, Oprah Winfrey, has a column in her magazine called What I Know For Sure.  I read her magazine every month, and this column is one that sticks with me, and one that I look for with each new edition of the magazine.  I turned 24 earlier this week, so, taking a page out of Oprah’s book, here is my list of 24 Things I Know at 24:

About life:

  1. The world is big, and waiting to be explored.
  2. The most devastating moments can ultimately lead to something great, even if it takes years to realize.
  3. The past is the past.
  4. Accepting that the past can’t be changed is simultaneously the most difficult and most freeing thing you can do.
  5. Even though the future is uncertain, you can maintain stability day to day.

About people:

  1. People don’t change.
  2. Each person is shaped by his or her own previous experiences.
  3. The experiences that define one person’s reality are no more or less valid than those that define another’s.
  4. Age does not equal maturity.
  5. One-sided friendships are not worth the effort.
  6. People grow apart, and it’s okay to let them go.
  7. Pick your battles.
  8. A deep breath can make all the difference in a heated conversation.
  9. It is important to surround yourself with people who leave you feeling good about yourself.
  10. Family relationships evolve over time.

About work:

  1. Work is done better and more efficiently when motivation is the driving force to get it done.
  2. Work-life balance is impossible to achieve; there will always be one more thing to do either at home or at work.
  3. Your job title does not need to define every thing you do in your life.

About my/yourself:

  1. A conclusion that I draw myself holds more weight than one that is spoon fed to me by anyone else.
  2. Quiet time to relax and recuperate is imperative each day.
  3. Living in fear of guilt is paralyzing.
  4. Everyone needs one activity they can count on to relax them.
  5. If you don’t take care of yourself, everything else will start to fall apart.
  6. It is possible to do everything if you manage your time properly.
Leave a Reply

