Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Although I had a lot of good moments in 2014, I can’t say that I’m too sad to see this year come to an end.  I’m hoping that my resolutions for the new year will help 2015 to overall be more relaxing and more fulfilling for me than 2014 was.

  • Take better care of myself.  The amount of stress I had at the end of 2014 made for a really miserable fall semester.  I need to take more time to myself on activities that will help me relax- not just watching TV as I do most evenings.  On the list?  Reading books; writing more regularly; doing my hair/wearing makeup; actually eating breakfast and lunch.
  • Keep my desk and my apartment cleaner.  I’m admittedly stressed at home too, mostly because of how cluttered my apartment is.  Yesterday alone I filled almost 4 trash bags of things to throw away, yet it barely made a dent.  I’ve never been the most organized person, but I know that if I keep up with cleaning my apartment every day after every mess I make, that in the long term I will feel a whole lot better when I am at home.
  • Budget my time at work better.  I need to get over the notion that the number of hours I spend in the lab each day is a direct correlation with the amount of work I get done.  It’s certainly not.  I need to work on experiments during my most productive hours (first thing in the morning, or right around lunchtime) and also try to get reading or writing done during my other productive time- late at night.  As such, I need to stop being self-conscious about leaving lab a bit earlier in the afternoon, when I know that my productivity in the lab decreases to practically nothing anyway.
  • Shop more responsibly.  I got away from couponing and getting free samples as I got busier and busier this past year.  But I know that if I spend a little bit of time each week clipping coupons and planning my shopping trips, I will have more money to either save or spend on things that I really want, and that’s worth the bit of additional effort up front.
  • Travel more.  I definitely visited more places than usual in 2014, including with the massive road trip I took with my family in August and a few additional states for sciencey things.  But in 2015 I want to do more traveling on my own, for relaxing things that I choose to do on my own without any work involved.  There are so many places I want to go, and now that I (hopefully) will have some flexibility with time, and definitely do now more with finances, I hope that this will be the year I can finally get away more.
Leave a Reply

