Writer’s block

Writer’s block

Grad school is a cycle of ups and downs. These past few months have been largely down, because I feel like I haven’t had a chance to get back into the swing of things since coming back from winter break. Our lab is moving, but the move date has been pushed around so many times that I’ve been afraid of starting any long-term experiments for fear of not having lab space to finish them. I went to a few conferences throughout the Spring semester, and finally, I’m in the midst of writing my comprehensive exams (which will hopefully be all finished by the end of June). It’s been a lot these past few months, and for someone who depends on having a schedule, at times overwhelming.

It shouldn’t come as much of a surprise, then, that I’ve been simultaneously been struggling with writer’s block and haven’t been able to think of much to post on the blog. It seems too easy for something that’s relaxing and fun to become a chore in the midst of a whirlwind of other responsibilities. But at the same time it’s been a relief to spend some time not worrying about publishing posts on a certain schedule, and instead just writing for myself when I want to.

I have ideas of things to write about (finally!), though, so hopefully I will also have the motivation to get some more blog posts up this summer. It’s been a while, but I’m ready to be back.

Leave a Reply

