Blogger Night @ Pittsburgh Glass Center!

Blogger Night @ Pittsburgh Glass Center!

Last weekend I had an awesome opportunity to visit the Pittsburgh Glass Center! As part of a promotional event for Pittsburgh bloggers, a group of about 10 of us got to watch a glass-blowing demo, followed by the chance to make our very own glass flowers!

Glass Blowing demo

I will admit that playing with 2100 degree molten glass was mildly terrifying (especially after burning my hand cooking last week…). I really admire the artists who do this daily! But it was a neat opportunity to try my hand at something artsy and new.

Picking colors for my flower!
Picking colors for my flower!
Creating the shape
Creating the flower shape with giant metal tongs
Final product! The outside is purple; the inside (which you can't see) is orange.
Final product! The outside is purple; the inside (which you can’t see) is orange.

If you are interested in trying your hand at creating art with glass yourself, check out the Pittsburgh Glass Center website. There are classes in all price ranges, but if you are a poor graduate student like me, take a look at the Make-It-Now workshops, which range in price from $25-$35. The next workshops are coming up on October 23 (Pumpkins) and December 5 (Ornaments). There are also Girl’s Night Out workshops for $45 being held on July 18 and August 1, October 10, and December 11 this year. You can register for any of these workshops, and more, on line!

Though I’ve been eyeing the Pittsburgh Glass Center for a while, I’m glad I had the chance to try it out last week because it was such a unique way to spend an evening. Thanks to the Glass Center staff for hosting a wonderful event- I’m sure I will find myself there again in the future!

FTC Disclaimer: I attended a free promotional event at the Pittsburgh Glass Center. The decision to write a blog post and all opinions expressed herein are my own.

Leave a Reply

