Carving out quiet spaces

Carving out quiet spaces

image
Happy that I found a quiet space away from the crowd! (Penguins in the background didn’t hurt 🙂

Something I’ve been neglecting lately but have, as a result, rediscovered the importance of, is the necessity of carving out quiet spaces in the midst of whatever is going on in my life. For me there’s a difference between good-busy and bad-busy, and the bad-busy times are when I spend all of my energy and reap no benefit to myself in any way. That’s been largely how my summer has been. As a result, I’ve felt overwhelmed, exhausted, and frazzled, and, I’ve not had any time to recover from one thing before moving on to the next. I took for granted how important it is for me to spend evenings at home decompressing from the events of the day. However, the stresses of the last month have caused me to reevaluate how I spend my time, and I now recognize that quiet is an important part of them.

As much as that’s important, though, I realize that life happens, and I also won’t be happy if I miss out on everything in the name of relaxing. So it’s as important to figure out how to manage busy situations in a way that doesn’t make them overwhelming. It means figuring out how to find quiet in the midst of noise.

The photo on this post is from an event I attended at the National Aviary earlier this evening. It was a cocktail party with various restaurants serving small plates; a bar; and live music. It was crowded and loud, and yet still fun- to an extent! I’m sure the location played a part in this, but I was relieved at the opportunity to take a reprieve from the floor and instead meander through the exhibits at the Aviary, which were much quieter and less crowded. Later on, I also found an off-to-the-side place on the Aviary grounds to write this post.

What I’ve learned is that it’s possible to find somewhere to recover practically anywhere. Needing space doesn’t mean secluding yourself or necessarily missing out on something. What it does mean is understanding when you do need space, and finding a way to create some no matter where you are. It’s not always easy (as I tend to find at lab and at family gatherings), but if it’s something people expect of you, it’s that much easier to walk away for a much-needed reprieve.

2 thoughts on “Carving out quiet spaces

Leave a Reply

