I need to spend less money on coffee.

I need to spend less money on coffee.

I spend too much money at Starbucks.

It wasn’t supposed to happen this way. But my occasional trip to Starbucks turned in to weekly, then a few times a week, and stayed at that level for many months. Something needed to change. My grad student stipend-fueled bank account couldn’t handle $5 caramel macchiatos or iced white chocolate mochas (plus the occasional $3 (delicious!) slice of pound cake).

Enter Folgers Flavors Coffee Enhancers.

Folgers Flavor Enhancers coffee flavor
Folgers Flavors joined the coffee counter at lab!

My department provides free coffee in our break area, but once the novelty of that wore off, I quickly got bored with the flavors of coffee they provide- dark roast, while my preferred roast, gets boring when you drink it day in and day out for a year and a half and counting. Just recently, my lab mates and I started to commiserate that if only we had a way to make the free coffee taste better, we wouldn’t feel the need to go to Starbucks as often.

That week, I received Folgers Flavors Coffee Enhancers to sample from Crowdtap. I received samples of all four flavors of the product: Caramel, Vanilla, Mocha, and Hazelnut, though I only sampled the first three of that list. I was excited to replicate the flavor of my lab’s overall favorite drink from Starbucks, the caramel macchiato, by mixing 3 shots of the Caramel flavoring with 1-2 shots of the Vanilla flavoring in an 8 oz. cup of coffee. Yum! Significantly cheaper and easier to get a hold of than walking to Starbucks and spending $5 for a drink I now know I can mimic myself. None of us in the lab were a huge fan of the Mocha flavoring, as we felt it was too chemically/bitter of a flavor to our palates. However, I left bottles of each flavor in the department break area, and they’re all getting used up!

I found Folgers Flavors Coffee Enhancers at my local Target regularly priced at $3.29, marked down to $1.88. Each bottle says it contains enough flavoring for 24 cups of coffee. Even if you use 3 shots of flavoring instead of 1 per cup, that comes out to approximately 24 cents per cup- way, way more affordable than $5!

Will I be swearing off Starbucks forever? No way. But now it can be a treat, instead of my only option to access delicious flavors of coffee during the work day.

FTC Disclaimer: I received Folgers Flavors Coffee Enhancers free to sample from Crowdtap. All opinions expressed herein are my own and were in no way influenced by having received a sample of this product.

Leave a Reply

