Bastille Day

Bastille Day

To help practice my French over the next few months, I’m going to do some upcoming posts in both English and French. I’m happy to take corrections to my French, in the comments ūüôā

Happy Bastille Day!

I like to use this holiday as a grand excuse to indulge in French food. Last year I ate my fill of pastries from my favorite bakery La Gourmandine. This year, I went a bit more high-end and enjoyed a three-course dinner at Paris 66.

I’m looking forward to next year when I’m celebrating this holiday in France for the first time!

But the evening was also somber because of the events that took place in Nice. Because the owner of the restaurant is French, there were journalists at the restaurant conducting interviews wth him as well as with a diner whose daughter was in Nice during the attack. So it was impossible to forget that terrible things happen in this world, even on festive days.

~~~

Aujourd’hui c’est la¬†f√™te nationale de la France!

J’aime utiliser cet jour chaque ann√©e pour manger trop de nourriture fran√ßaise. L’ann√©e derni√®re j’ai mang√©¬†√† ma faim de ma¬†p√Ętisserie pr√©fer√©, La Gourmandine. Cette ann√©e, j’ai choisi¬†√† manger un d√ģner plus haut de gamme et profit√© d’un repas de 3 courses¬†√† Paris 66.

J’attend l’ann√©e prochaine quand je passera le jour¬†√† Paris pour la premi√®re fois!

Mais aussi le soir √©tait sombre √† cause des √©venements √† Nice. Parce que le propri√©taire du restaurant est fran√ßais, il y avait des journalistes au restaurant en faisant les interviews avec lui et avec une cliente¬†dont la fille √©tait¬†√† Nice pendant l’attaque. Donc c’√©tait impossible¬†√† oublier qu’il y a des choses horribles qui se passent partout le monde, m√™me sur les jours festifs.

Leave a Reply

