The Light Between Oceans movie review

The Light Between Oceans movie review

If you’re looking for a movie to watch over this holiday weekend, I recommend you take the time to see The Light Between Oceans. It hit theaters today, and I had the opportunity to see an advance screening earlier this week. It’s based off a 2012 novel by the same name, and is set in the years following World War I.

null
Oscar (TM) winner Rachel Weisz is Hannah Roennfeldt in the poignant drama THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS, written and directed by Derek Cianfrance and based on the acclaimed novel by M.L. Steadman.

I’d seen previews of The Light Between Oceans on TV, and was curious to see it based on the character depth that was evident even in a 30 second commercial. That was certainly the selling point of this movie- the relationships that formed between every pair of characters, and how those relationships impacted later decisions by them. The plot itself is simple and overarching: when your entire identity is hinged on a past mistake, how do you move forward? Where this movie really shines is in the characters’ responses to this dilemma. I try extremely hard not to cry during movies, but the last scene of this drama hit me hard and I left the theater with puffy red eyes.

You can see one of the many poignant clips from this movie right here. I’m sure the infectious emotions in this one minute will make you want to see the entire film (even though it doesn’t stay happy for the entire two hours)!

I don’t see movies in theaters too often- they’re expensive!- but for those of you in Pittsburgh, I was happy to notice that The Manor Theater in Squirrel Hill is showing it. All of their ticket prices are under $10, and students will never pay more than $8! That’s a price I can look forward to.

If you see The Light Between Oceans this Labor Day weekend, let me know what you think of it in the comments!

One thought on “The Light Between Oceans movie review

  1. I think i’ve watched the trailer about 20 times already. I read the book a couple of months ago and absolutely loved it. It’s such an interesting story and you can’t help but place yourself in their shoes. Great review. Would you be interested in sharing your work on Moviepilot/Creators? Feel free to shoot me an e-mail so I can expand on that. My contact details are on my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

